IAM vs IAT vs IASAE – Cyber Security Qualification Comparison

If you are working in the IT/Cybersecurity industry, you may come across these terms. Most probably, IAT and IAM. If you are thinking of working for a federal organization, this basic understanding is mandatory.

All those qualification frameworks are being established by the  US DoD (Department of Defense).

  • IAM – IAM stands for Information Assurance Management. This qualification is more focused on Management.
  • IAT – IAT stands for Information Assurance Technical. Meaning this is more focused on Technical.
  • IASAE – IASAE stands for Information Assurance System Architects and Engineers. This means this is more focused on IS Architecting.

All those Frameworks have different Levels, starting from Level 1 through Level 3. Level 1 is considered entry-level certifications, level 2 are intermediate, and level 3 is expert level.

Updated DoD Approved 8570 Baseline Certifications

[source: https://public.cyber.mil/cw/cwmp]

What is Cisco Defense Orchestrator ?

CDO is a cloud-based multi-device management portal. In my opinion, this is the best solution for service providers like cloud services and managed service providers. Simply you do not have to access each and every management portal. Simply using CDO, all the CISO security devices can be managed.


  • Fast platform migration
  • Fast deployment and device on-boarding
  • Pre-defined security templates
  • Simple upgrade process
  • Integration of 3rd party integrations


Supported Devices:

  • Adaptive Security Appliance (ASA)
  • Firepower Thread Defense (FTD)
  • Firepower Management Center (FMC)
  • Cisco IOS devices with Security Module
  • Meraki MX

support matrix: Data Sheet